Midlife Career Change Can Feel Like Getting a Divorce

Written by Cathy Goodwin


Most of us are aware that we need to grieverepparttar death of a close friend, relative or favorite pet. We are beginning to learn that other events -- relocation, divorce, illness -- can also be experienced as loss.

Losing a professional-level career can also be a source of grief, anger and frustration. Starting a business is a death as well as a birth. You may feel as though you are getting a divorce after a twenty-year marriage. Here's why.

1. Sometimesrepparttar 106520 career leaves you. The field wants "younger people." Or you have to change in ways that violate your sense of self.

2. Sometimes you leave a career that seems perfectly wonderful and fulfilling to those onrepparttar 106521 outside. "The money's so good," your mother says, "and it's not as if you're scrubbing floors all day. Can't you just hang in there and pretend you like it?"

3. You feel disloyal. After all, you've gained a lot from this career. Forrepparttar 106522 rest of your life, you will viewrepparttar 106523 world throughrepparttar 106524 lens created by your training and experience. You will question assumptions, criticize, challenge, argue, prepare, organize, or negotiate.

4. Friends take sides. After you leave, some former colleagues no longer return your calls. Others try to engage you in a rousing session of "Aren't they horrible," which you don't want either.

Internet Marketing or What's That You Said?

Written by June Campbell


Planning an Internet marketing strategy? Will you getrepparttar best ROI from a CPA, CPC, PPL, or a hybrid model? And how will you track your CPM and determine your CTR?

HUH?

If you're new to business and trying to learn how to market onrepparttar 106519 Internet, your first reaction will be complete bewilderment. Come to think of it, why am I suggesting this happens only to people who are new to business? I'm betting you'd find Fortune 500 CEO's who don't know their PPC from their CPA. Egads! And they say government employees talk in acronyms and jargon. They never came up with anything close to what you'll find on Internet marketing forums and bulletin boards.

Daunting as it is, you'll need to know this stuff eventually. So, pour yourself a strong cup of something and plow through these definitions:

ROI (Return on Investment) If your $1000 advertisement results in $1500 in sales, your ROI is $500.

Impression The number of times a banner or advertisement is served (displayed) on a web site. If 10 people visitedrepparttar 106520 web page containingrepparttar 106521 banner, you would have 10 impressions. If one person viewed it 10 times, you would still have 10 impressions.

Hit This is a (poor) method of measuring web site traffic. A hit is registered each time a browser request is made from a web server. If you have a web page containing four graphics, each page display will count as five hits.

Page View This is a more effective way to measure web traffic. A Page View refers to each time a page is displayed. So, if you have a web page with four graphics, each timerepparttar 106522 page is displayed counts as one page view but five hits.

Unique Visitors This isrepparttar 106523 number of individuals who visit your site in a defined time. If 200 people visit your site this week, that is 200 unique visitors. If one person visits your site 200 times, that is one unique visitor.

Stickiness This refers torepparttar 106524 length of time that a visitor spends at your site over a given period of time, or sometimes torepparttar 106525 number of web pages that your visitors typically download.

CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost) This isrepparttar 106526 cost of obtaining a new customer. You divide your total acquisition expenses by your total number of new customers. For example, if your $100 ezine ad produces 30 new customers, your CAC is $3.33.

CPM ) Cost Per Thousand) This is an advertising model based onrepparttar 106527 cost of 1000 impressions of your ezine or web ads. If a publisher is selling advertising for $45 CPM, you would pay $45 for one thousand impressions of your advertisement, or .045 cents each per impression.

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