Internet Marketing or What's That You Say?

Written by June Campbell


Planning an Internet marketing strategy? Will you getrepparttar best ROI from a CPA, CPC, PPL, or a hybrid model? And how will you track your CPM and determine your CTR?

HUH?

If you're new to business and trying to learn how to market onrepparttar 121454 Internet, your first reaction will be complete bewilderment. Come to think of it, why am I suggesting this happens only to people who are new to business? I'm betting you'd find Fortune 500 CEO's who don't know their PPC from their CPA.

Egads! And they say government employees talk in acronyms and jargon. They never came up with anything close to what you'll find on Internet marketing forums and bulletin boards.

Daunting as it is, you'll need to know this stuff eventually. So, pour yourself a strong cup of something and plow through these definitions:

ROI (Return on Investment) If your $1000 advertisement results in $1500 in sales, your ROI is $500.

Impression The number of times a banner or advertisement is served (displayed) on a web site. If 10 people visitedrepparttar 121455 web page containingrepparttar 121456 banner, you would have 10 impressions. If one person viewed it 10 times, you would still have 10 impressions.

Hit This is a (poor) method of measuring web site traffic. A hit is registered each time a browser request is made from a web server. If you have a web page containing four graphics, each page display will count as five hits.

Page View This is a more effective way to measure web traffic. A Page View refers to each time a page is displayed. So, if you have a web page with four graphics, each timerepparttar 121457 page is displayed counts as one page view but five hits.

Unique Visitors This isrepparttar 121458 number of individuals who visit your site in a defined time. If 200 people visit your site this week, that is 200 unique visitors. If one person visits your site 200 times, that is one unique visitor.

Stickiness This refers torepparttar 121459 length of time that a visitor spends at your site over a given period of time, or sometimes torepparttar 121460 number of web pages that your visitors typically download.

CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost) This isrepparttar 121461 cost of obtaining a new customer. You divide your total acquisition expenses by your total number of new customers. For example, if your $100 ezine ad produces 30 new customers, your CAC is $3.33.

OCTOPUS MARKETING - Create a Community of Opportunity

Written by Romanus Wolter


Yesterday as I sat down to get a haircut, I noticed that forrepparttar first time that I wasrepparttar 121453 only customer inrepparttar 121454 shop. My barber anxiously asked, "Arerepparttar 121455 stores empty where you work?" He told me that 40% of his business has eroded; half of his customers had moved away andrepparttar 121456 others had been laid off.

Reality has hit his small business. Business is off in most sectors. People are staying home, seeking comfort and familiarity. I hearrepparttar 121457 same cry everywhere I go—"We need more customers!"

Small businesses don't haverepparttar 121458 advertising budgets of large companies to lure customers back with special deals. Andrepparttar 121459 government's messages to "go spend more" haverepparttar 121460 right intent, but do not direct customers torepparttar 121461 doorsteps. How can small businesses reach these customers?

STRETCH YOUR TENTACLES!

With some imagination, will power and a technique I call "Octopus Marketing," small business owners can create new opportunities to increase sales.

Octopus Marketing isrepparttar 121462 ability to make one marketing effort produce multiple effects, increasing returns without increasing effort. By tapping an Octopus onrepparttar 121463 head, its tentacles stretch out and reach in different directions. Business owners can dorepparttar 121464 same thing. By leveraging their own value and partnering with other businesses or organizations, a single marketing event can pay off again and again.

The head ofrepparttar 121465 octopus is any organization or group of business owners that partners together to reach more customers. Each member ofrepparttar 121466 organization or business is one ofrepparttar 121467 tentacles. It works like this:

First breakrepparttar 121468 rules. View other small businesses as partners, not competition. In these uncertain times, small business owners need to band together and develop a unique marketing program that will pull customers torepparttar 121469 neighborhood, into stores or onto web pages.

Observe how other merchants, whether they are florists, produce stands, café owners or optometrists, offer services and goods that benefit and supportrepparttar 121470 community. All of these products and services bring comfort and familiarity—which is exactly what customers are asking for right now!

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