California Lemon Law
Officially known as Song-Beverly Consumer Warranty Act, California Lemon Law is there to protect consumer. If you have found yourself to be owner of a lemon car, truck, RV, or puppy, California Lemon Law will make sure that you get your purchase replaced or refunded to you. How do you know if you have a lemon? The California Lemon Law states that any purchase more than $25.00 that is defective, unsafe, malfunctioning, or has an existing problem that greatly reduces its value will qualify as a lemon.
Under California Lemon Law you should notify dealer/manufacturer of problem you are having with your vehicle. The dealer must make four attempts to repair lemon car during first 18 months or 18,000 miles, whichever comes first. California Lemon Law states that a vehicle that has been in for repairs four or more times for same defect, or if car has been in dealer for repairs of defect for a total of 30 calendar days, then vehicle should be presumed to be and classified as a lemon car. If your vehicle has to be brought into dealer two times to repair a defect that could result in injury or death if not repaired, that too is considered a lemon car under California Lemon Law.
The California Lemon Law also allows Lemon Law claims to be filed against manufacturers if car is over 18 months/18,000 mile limit, if car is still under warranty. This covers consumer who has a two or a three-year-old vehicle that comes with an extended warranty. This law also protects consumer by allowing a time period of four years after defect is first noticed to bring a lemon law claim against a manufacturer. It is important that you get legal advice from an attorney who is knowledgeable in California Lemon Law. When you seek an attorney, it is best to hire one with a history of only representing consumers, and never manufacturer in California Lemon Lawsuits.