Continued from page 1
CTR - Click Through Ratio:
Used primarily in affiliate programs and advertising, this is ratio between total impressions of a banner or link and number of times a site visitor actually clicks on (or executes), banner or link. For example, if a banner/link had 10,000 impressions in a month, but advertiser's banner/link was only actually clicked 2,000 times during that same period, CTR would be 20%.
CPC - Cost Per Click:
This represents amount of money (or other consideration), an advertiser would pay to site owner each time their banner or link was clicked by a site visitor.
CPI - Cost Per Impression:
This represents amount of money (or other consideration), an advertiser would pay to site owner each time their banner or link was viewed by a site visitor.
CPM - Cost Per Thousand:
This is amount an advertiser would pay a site owner for every thousand units. I'm using term UNITS to represent whatever site owner and advertiser agreed to base payments on - per click, per impression, per subscriber (in e-zine advertising), etc. For example, if you were being paid $.20 cents for each click through, and in a month your site generated 10,000 click throughs for a specific advertiser, you would be paid $2,000.
There are many more terms you should become familiar with, but these are most commonly used terms with regard to web site traffic, affiliate programs, and web site and/or e-zine advertising.
Todd W. Winslow is the co-owner of TADD Marketing Group, L.L.C. He is also the founder of TADD Publishing Group which publishes a variety of e-mail newsletters http://www.taddgroup.com, and is co-creator of The Mystic Beagle - a romance and relationship advice web site http://www.mysticbeagle.com